跳转到内容
洞察力>媒体

始终如一 "使数字测量现代化,具有可重复的可比性

3分钟阅读 | 2022年11月

2021年初,尼尔森在其 数字广告评级(DAR)产品中首次推出了 "永远在线 "的功能,这是数字媒体测量领域的一个重大进步--代表着向数字和线性媒体之间的真正可比性迈出了一大步。

要看到这一进步的价值,关键是要了解它是如何提升传统的数字测量。一直以来,营销人员使用的产品都是告诉他们是否有人浏览或点击了广告或内容--无论是在线还是在电子邮件中。而大多数数字测量需要在个人活动层面上实现。

这种测量方式满足了网络1.0时代营销人员的需求,但在多设备使用猖獗、联网电视(CTV)的采用在受众中变得无处不在的时代,它无法提供广告商和代理商所需的可比性。

在观众花时间上网的众多方式中,流媒体仍然是一个佼佼者,而且它的发展势头还在不断增强。例如,在9月,流媒体--所有种类的流媒体--占到了观众总电视时间的36.9%1。市场研究公司Insider Intelligence预测, 今年的CTV支出总额将达到 189亿美元,广告商和代理商需要连续、可比和自动的数字活动测量。

了解 "永远在线 "的测量

与需要单个广告活动的时间点测量不同,always on DAR提供了跨计算机、移动设备和连接设备的连续广告测量。除了为品牌和代理商提供更多的印象数据用于实时活动评估外,always on DAR的连续测量方面密切反映了线性电视的测量方式,为整体的、重复的跨渠道测量提供了重要的覆盖和可比性桥梁。

这种可比性来得太及时了。这是因为未来的媒体测量需要关注受众,而不是平台或设备。在不同媒体产品之间的界限不断模糊的情况下,这一点尤其正确。

例如,考虑YouTube。YouTube在流媒体视频领域的足迹也在增长。事实上,2022年9月,YouTube(包括YouTube TV)占电视总使用量的8%创下平台记录,也是流媒体供应商中最大的比例。这一电视时间份额代表了近40%的使用量的同比增长1。

对于许多广告商和代理商来说,YouTube是他们媒体组合规划中一个有意义的渠道。从细化数据和管理的角度来看,最近在YouTube上启用的永远在线的DAR为广告商和代理商提供了扩大的活动绩效的可视性,以反映电视测量的连续测量。因此,他们只需一次性启用该功能,就可以在市场上领先的、最大的广告支持平台之一开始从真正的跨渠道可比性中受益。

但是,永远的DAR不仅仅是对广告商和代理机构有利。在一个不断扩展的媒体环境中,出版商需要强大、准确和实时的数据来展示他们的财产所带来的价值。随着印象数据的增加,出版商可以更好地将广告投放给预期的受众,了解覆盖范围和管理频率,并深入了解每个独特的财产所提供的受众。

在一个线性和数字之间的界限迅速合并的环境中,测量的可比性是最重要的。尽管设备和平台分散,但在今天的媒体市场上,受众就是一切,这就是品牌、代理商和出版商应该关注的地方。

了解如何激活永远在线的测量在YouTube上使用尼尔森数字广告评级。

注意事项

  1. The Gauge,2022年9月的使用数据

继续浏览同一主题的洞察力

Skip to content
02_Elements/Icons/ArrowLeft Back to Insight
Insights > Media

‘Always on’ modernizes digital measurement with deduplicated comparability

3 minute read | November 2022

In early 2021, Nielsen debuted the ‘always on’ capability within its Digital Ad Ratings (DAR) product, a significant advancement in digital media measurement—one that represents a major step toward true comparability across digital and linear media.

To see the value of this advancement, it’s critical to understand how it elevates traditional digital measurement. Historically, marketers have used products that tell them whether someone viewed or clicked an ad or content—either online or in an email. And most digital measurement needs to be enabled at the individual campaign level.

This type of measurement met the needs of marketers in web 1.0, but it can’t provide the comparability that advertisers and agencies need in an era where multiple device usage is rampant and connected TV (CTV) adoption is becoming ubiquitous with audiences.

Amid the many ways in which audiences spend their time online, streaming remains a stand-out, and it continues to gain momentum. In September, for example, streaming—in all of its varieties—accounted for 36.9% of audiences’ total TV time1. And with market research company Insider Intelligence forecasting that CTV spend will total $18.9 billion this year, advertisers and agencies need digital campaign measurement that’s continuous, comparable and automatic.

Understanding “always on” measurement

Unlike point-in-time measurement that requires individual campaign enablement, always on DAR provides continuous measurement of ads across computers, mobile devices and connected devices. In addition to providing brands and agencies with significantly more impressions data for real-time campaign evaluation, the continuous measurement aspect of always on DAR closely mirrors how linear TV is measured, providing a major coverage and comparability bridge for holistic, deduplicated cross-channel measurement.

This comparability couldn’t come at a better time. That’s because the future of media measurement needs to focus on the audience, not platforms or devices. This is especially true when the lines between different media offerings are constantly blurring.

For example, consider YouTube. YouTube is also growing its footprint in the streaming video space. In fact, YouTube (including YouTube TV) accounted for a platform-record 8% of total TV usage in September 2022 and the largest percentage among streaming providers. This share of TV time represents year-over-year usage growth of nearly 40%1.

For many advertisers and agencies, YouTube is a meaningful channel in their media mix planning. From a granular data and management perspective, the recent enablement of always on DAR within YouTube provides advertisers and agencies with expanded visibility into campaign performance to mirror the continuous measurement of  TV measurement. Consequently, they simply need to enable the functionality one time for their YouTube campaigns to begin benefitting from true cross-channel comparability within one of the market’s leading and largest ad-supported platforms.

But always on DAR isn’t just beneficial for advertisers and agencies. In a media environment that’s constantly expanding, publishers need robust, accurate and real-time data to showcase the value that their properties are delivering. With increased impressions data, publishers can better deliver ads to intended audiences, understand reach and manage frequency, and gain insight into the audience that each unique property is delivering.

In an environment where the lines between linear and digital are quickly merging, measurement comparability is paramount. Device and platform fragmentation notwithstanding, the audience is everything in today’s media market, and that’s where brands, agencies and publishers should be focusing their attention.

Learn how to activate always on measurement in YouTube with Nielsen Digital Ad Ratings.

Note

  1. The Gauge, September 2022 usage data

Continue browsing similar insights

Continue browsing similar products