跳转到内容
洞察力>广告

为了提供全面影响的营销活动,营销人员需要全渠道的可视性

3分钟阅读|2022年8月

许多营销人员在衡量全渠道效益时都是盲目的,这导致他们错过了收入机会。

尼尔森2022年年度营销报告中接受调查的全球营销人员中,近三分之二的人表示衡量全漏斗投资回报率极为重要或非常重要,但只有54%的人对他们正确衡量投资回报率的能力极为自信或非常自信。

对全渠道投资回报率的测量缺乏信心并不奇怪,因为典型的营销技术供应商不会在同一个解决方案中同时考虑到上、下渠道的营销努力。这种疏忽可能是昂贵的,因为品牌意识对于实现长期目标至关重要。根据尼尔森的研究,平均而言,品牌指标(如认知度和考虑度)每增加1分,就会使未来的销售额增加1%

如果你只测量了一半的漏斗,你就错过了一半的情况,因为渠道很少在销售和品牌结果上都表现良好--事实上,这只发生在36%的案例中1。这意味着,在三分之二的时间里,一个媒体渠道在两个目标中至少有一个是薄弱的。

即使是以品牌建设能力著称的媒体也是如此:电视。平均而言,电视是推动品牌提升的最有效工具之一。然而,结果在很大程度上会因活动类型甚至季节变化而有所不同。例如,在31%的尼尔森营销组合全球研究中,我们发现电视在产生品牌提升方面低于平均值。而在另外45%的研究中,电视则处于前20%的位置。由于影响结果的变量如此之多,不难看出为什么营销人员在努力寻找一个成功的漏斗公式。

但是,与大多数营销挑战一样,衡量渠道的有效性和优化你的营销漏斗在数据的作用下变得更加容易管理。以渠道支出为例。如果没有数据来帮助确定资金的分配,营销人员通常会加倍关注获得最大投资的渠道,因为它也产生了最大的提升。而尼尔森的数据显示,在70%的情况下,投资最多的渠道会产生最高的品牌提升,但在4%的情况下,它只应该是第一个获得增量投资的渠道2。

为了提高每个渠道的有效性,并更全面地了解他们整个漏斗的表现,营销人员应该分别测量漏斗的每个部分。因为漏斗上部的信息可能会提高品牌指标,而漏斗下部的信息可能会提高销售量,把两者混在一起的指标可能无法给你提供你所需要的信息,以调整你的支出,达到最大的效果。

运行尼尔森营销组合分析咨询(MMMs)将有助于优化短期销售的渠道组合,然后可以使用第二次分析来优化旨在提高知名度或漏斗上层其他指标的渠道组合。该方法满足了短期销售目标的需要,同时通过品牌建设播下长期增长的种子。

一个平衡的营销漏斗既支持眼前的收入需求,也支持长期的雄心。重要的是要记住,投资回报率是一个长期的游戏,媒体计划如果能平衡那些短期的提升和持续的品牌建设,将会在未来实现更好的结果。

关于如何使品牌和销售共同增长的更多见解,请访问尼尔森的新的全渠道营销中心

资料来源。

1尼尔森营销组合模型
2尼尔森全媒体共鸣度

继续浏览同一主题的洞察力

Skip to content
02_Elements/Icons/ArrowLeft Back to Insight
Insights > Advertising

To deliver full-impact campaigns, marketers need full-funnel visibility

3 minute read | August 2022

Many marketers are flying blind when it comes to measuring full-funnel effectiveness—and it’s causing missed revenue opportunities.

Nearly two-thirds of global marketers surveyed for Nielsen’s 2022 Annual Marketing Report say measuring full funnel ROI is extremely or very important, but only 54% are extremely or very confident in their ability to measure ROI properly.

Lack of confidence in full-funnel ROI measurement isn’t surprising, given that typical martech providers don’t account for both upper- and lower-funnel marketing efforts in the same solution. This oversight can be costly, as brand awareness is critical to hitting long-term goals. On average, a 1-point gain in brand metrics such as awareness and consideration drives a 1% increase in future sales, according to Nielsen’s research.

And if you’re only measuring half your funnel, you’re missing half the picture, as channels rarely perform well on both sales and brand outcomes—in fact this only happens in 36% of cases1. That means that about two-thirds of the time, a media channel will be weak for at least one of the two goals.

That’s true even for a medium that’s known for its brand-building power: TV. On average, television is one of the most effective vehicles for driving brand lift. However, results can vary largely based on campaign type or even changing seasons. In 31% of Nielsen Marketing Mix global studies, for example, we found that TV was below average in producing brand lift. In a separate 45% of studies, it was in the top 20% bracket. With so many variables affecting outcomes, it’s easy to see why marketers are struggling to find a winning funnel formula.

But, as with most marketing challenges, measuring channel effectiveness and optimizing your marketing funnel becomes much more manageable with data. Take the case of channel spend: Without the benefit of data to help determine where dollars should be allocated, marketers will normally double down on the channel that received the largest investment simply because it also produced the largest lift. And, while Nielsen data shows that the most-funded channel will produce the highest brand lift about 70% of the time, it should only be the first channel to get incremental investment 4% of the time2.

To increase the effectiveness of each channel, and to get a more complete picture of how their entire funnel is performing, marketers should measure each part of the funnel separately. Because upper-funnel messages will likely boost brand metrics, and lower-funnel messages will likely boost sales, mixing the two together in one metric may not give you the information you need to adjust your spend for maximum impact.

Running marketing mix models (MMMs) will help optimize channel mix for short term-sales, and a second analysis can then be done to optimize channel mix for awareness or other upper-funnel metrics. This approach addresses the need to meet short-term sales goals while seeding long-term growth through brand building. Finally, marketers should look at both upper- and lower-funnel plans and weight them based on larger organizational goals.

A well-balanced marketing funnel supports both immediate revenue needs and long-term ambitions. It’s important to remember that ROI is a long game, and media plans that balance those short-term lifts with continual brand building will realize better outcomes down the road.

For more insights on how to grow brand and sales together, visit Nielsen’s new full-funnel marketing hub.

Source:

1Nielsen Marketing Mix models
2Nielsen Total Media Resonance

Continue browsing similar insights

Continue browsing similar products